News Stories

HQ RIO Announces 2019 Individual Reservists of the Year

  • Published

The Headquarters Individual Reservist Readiness and Integration Organization announced the 2019 Individual Reservist of the Year award winners.

The award program recognizes the accomplishments of the outstanding Reserve Airmen who augment Active Component and government agencies world-wide.

“During these challenging times, it’s great to take a step back and focus on the amazing things our Individual Reservists do throughout the year,” said Col. Amy Boehle, HQ RIO commander. "These American Airmen are truly exemplary, and this positive news couldn’t come at a better time.  I’m honored to serve with them.”

Individual Reservists of the Year 

  • Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Robert J. Walters, Electronic Warfare Analyst, 9th Combat Operations Squadron, Vandenberg AFB, California
  • Non-commissioned Officer of the Year: Tech. Sgt. John C. Spletstoser, Special Agent, AFOSI Detachment 2, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Virginia 
  • Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Michael A. Szabo, NCOIC of Operations, 45th Security Forces Squadron, Patrick AFB, Florida  
  • Company Grade Office of the Year: Capt. Benjamin R. Shea, IMA to the Asst. Director of Operations, 91st Operational Support Squadron, Minot AFB, North Dakota 
  • Field Grade Officer of the Year: Lt. Col. Christopher K. Kuchma, Chief, Current Operations Division, Headquarters U.S. Forces Japan, Yokota AB, Japan  

The more than 7,500 Air Force Individual Reservists are managed by HQ RIO, located at Buckley Air Force Base, Colorado, and serve at more than 50 separate major commands, combatant commands and government agencies around the world.